Uneasy Calm At Asawase NDC

There is uneasy calm prevailing within members and sympathisers of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) in the Asawase Constituency of the Ashanti Region.

The crux of that uneasiness stems from recent events that rocked that constituency when an aspirant made a bid to contest the primary of the constituency –— a move that did not sit well with some interests within the fold of the NDC party in that part of the country.

The incumbent Member of Parliament for the Asawase Constituency is Alhaji Mohammed Mubarak Muntaka who has served as MP for the area since 2005.

However, when the NDC opened the door for the picking of nomination forms for the primaries of constituencies across the country, there emerged another aspirant in the person of Alhaji Mubarick Masawudu, a grassroot member of the party believed to have a considerable following.

He, however, could not file his nomination for reasons that are not too clear necessitating a number of appeals that ended ultimately at the national headquaters of the party.


Alhaji Muntaka has served very well in Parliament (three terms) as MP for Asawase and has held various positions, including being a Youth and Sports Minister under the Mills administration.

He was requested by President Mills to proceed on leave while allegations of corruption against him were investigated. 

He, however, resigned from government following the acceptance by President Mills of the findings of the investigative committee.

He is noted for outstanding roles such as being the Majority Chief Whip under the tenure of former President John Dramani Mahama.

He became the MP for Asawase following the death of Dr Gibril Adamu Mohammed who had won the election in December 2004 but passed on shortly after.